Financial Side of Covens

The Financial Side of the Craft and Covens

When I started in the Craft, I had very little money, but my very first coven was a very supportive coven and provided many things I could not afford. I had often had tealights and snitched cooking herbs from my mother to make my own incenses. I didn’t go out as much so that I could afford incenses and a few books.

For a new Seeker or a solitary practitioner, very little money “has” to be spent. You can use $1 candles from the dollar store or grocery store. You can use about any old knife you have around the house. You can use some cinnamon and salt from the kitchen. And plain old tap water works fine, too. As I progressed an elder would give me an athame at a Sabbat and candle holders for my birthday. They lent or gave me books to read. And, I thought that it didn’t really cost much to be a member of the Coven.

Sometimes our High Priestess would ask for people to bring candles and other items explaining that her finances were low. But that should not have been a big deal, because you can practice the Craft for little or no money, right?

As I moved further into my studies and began my own covens, I began to learn that the Craft “can” be virtually free, but it usually is not for elders and leaders. The athame I was given and the books I that were given to me were bought by someone. Just because it was not bought by me, didn’t really mean I was practicing my craft “free”, it meant that elders were helping me to acquire the tools they thought I needed. Even if they were made or forged, somewhere down the line someone bartered or bought materials.

As an elder now, I see the other side of it. Finding a slice of bread to use by myself for cakes is much easier and cheaper than make crescent cookies for a whole coven. I still try to save money where I can, but one of my ambitions as an elder is to provide the “mystical” atmosphere that new seekers need. Those involve providing symbols that trigger their subconscious and conscious minds to spark their progress until they have traveled far enough not to “need” the symbols.

I am sure others, like myself, have outdoor circles that require brickwork and landscaping to maintain the atmosphere. I have special pathways to enter and benches for the old folk to sit on. I use special resins and incenses to set just the right mood. I really go all out if it is someone’s first time in a circle. I want it to be as magickal and mystical as I can make it so that I inspire them. I know I can do it in a cow field, but will new seekers be able to without the symbols that trigger their progress? I do not want to take the chance that I did not provide them with the best opportunity to have the most enlightened experience as they can.

So while solitary craft can be virtually free, most covens are not. So next time, if you are heading to a coven or group circle, remember to bring some candles, incense, or wine. They will appreciate that you are trying to assist them to provide you with the best atmosphere for your growth.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://meadmuse.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/financial-side-of-covens/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

