Transformation ~ A Short Story

Today is like every other day of my life.  Dark and smothering.  I know there has to be something more than this everyday life and the same repetitive routine.  I eat.  I sleep.  I contemplate the meaning of this life I have been given and the endless questions that come as a result.

 What purpose am I truly fulfilling?  I feel as if no matter what I do, I go no where.  I accomplish nothing.  Is this what life is all about?  Am I to have no other purpose but this?  I feel as if I possess the greatest of potential, but also as if that very potential has been bound into a darkness from which I cannot escape.

 Sometimes, I think it is, perhaps, just my perception of things.  If I were to believe, I could make it manifest.  I have tried and failed.  Even this accomplishes nothing, so I am left alone with my thoughts in the dark. 

 And there has been pain in the darkness.  At first, it came from a far away distance as if gently calling my name.  Even uncertain as to what it was, I knew to withdraw as far from it as far as possible, but it continued to creep closer and closer with more intensity than one should have to bear. 

Today, the pain of the dark is too much to bear and I am determined to escape this endless darkness and increasing pain.  I am not sure what I am doing, but I am striving.  Another fruitless endeavor, but today I hear a voice and I cannot help but follow the voice to another place and another time.

“Welcome to the world, Little One,” said the midwife as she gently wiped the fluid of a past life away from my eyes.  She hands me to my mother and I now understand the purpose of being in the dark for so long.

*** THIRTY YEARS LATER ***

 Today is like every other day of my life.  Dark and smothering.  I know there has to be something more than this everyday life and the same repetitive routine.  I eat.  I sleep.  I contemplate the meaning of this life I have been given and the endless questions that come as a result.

Published in: on November 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://meadmuse.wordpress.com/2010/11/25/transformation-a-short-story/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

